2023 DIII Women’s Volleyball Championship: Bracket, Schedule, Scores

DIII Women's Volleyball Championship

The excitement is palpable as the 2023 NCAA Division III women’s volleyball championship unfolds. With 64 teams participating in a fierce single-elimination tournament, the championship is a showcase of skill, teamwork, and passion. The tournament, which began on November 16, has already seen some intense matches, setting the stage for more thrilling volleyball action.

Summary Table

RoundDateNotable Matches
First RoundThursday, Nov. 16Springfield 3, Wentworth 0; Eastern 3, Tufts 2
Second RoundFriday, Nov. 17Emory 3, Covenant 2; Johns Hopkins 3, Middlebury 1
Third RoundSaturday, Nov. 18Emory vs. Trinity (TX); MIT vs. Claremont-M-S

The Road to the Championship

The tournament’s structure includes 64 teams, with 42 automatic qualifiers and 22 at-large selections. The matches are played across various locations, leading up to the grand finale on December 2. The teams, selected on November 13, have embarked on a journey filled with high stakes and excitement, vying for the coveted championship title.

Key Matches and Results

The tournament has witnessed some remarkable performances right from the first round. Teams like Springfield, Eastern, and Transylvania have made their mark with convincing victories. The second round intensified the competition with teams like Emory, NYU, and Johns Hopkins advancing to the next stage. The third round, scheduled for November 18, promises more action-packed matches.

Upcoming Schedule

The third round on November 18 features key matchups like Emory vs. Trinity (TX) and MIT vs. Claremont-M-S. The anticipation for these games is high, as teams battle for a spot in the quarterfinals. The tournament progresses with the quarterfinals on November 29, semifinals on November 30, and the championship match on December 2.

Championship Legacy

The DIII women’s volleyball championship has a rich history of producing some of the most memorable moments in college sports. Past champions like Juniata, Wisconsin-Eau Claire, and Johns Hopkins have set high standards, inspiring this year’s teams to aim for glory.

Past Champions

Looking back at the championship’s history, teams like Juniata, Calvin, and Washington-St. Louis have left an indelible mark. These teams’ achievements are a testament to the championship’s prestige and the level of competition it attracts.


The 2023 NCAA DIII women’s volleyball championship is more than just a tournament; it’s a celebration of talent, hard work, and the spirit of competition. As the teams continue their journey towards the championship, fans can expect more thrilling volleyball action. Stay tuned for updates on this exhilarating tournament.